Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Technology · Holders

Applied Materials (AMAT) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top AMAT institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 28, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 5:58 AM EDT · Statements Jul 26, 2026

Ownership read

AMAT insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 22 sales and 1 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

AMAT

Purchases50.00K
Sales308.48K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

80.21M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$180.46M sold / $6.87M bought

Observations shown

83

10 holder / 73 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
9
1 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
73
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
37.96% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 258,483

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 23
  • Grant: 38
  • Gift: 12

Top 10 institutional holders

Applied Materials (AMAT) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Applied Materials (AMAT) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Blackrock Inc.
10.1%80.21M+1.57%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
6.53%51.85M+0.52%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
State Street Corporation
4.82%38.24M+1.95%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Invesco Ltd.
3.56%28.27M+7.21%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Capital Research Global Investors
2.79%22.16M-24.77%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.77%22.01M+0.39%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
2.34%18.55M+7.48%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
JPMORGAN CHASE & CO
1.75%13.89M+181.96%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Morgan Stanley
1.70%13.52M+14.18%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Price (T.Rowe) Associates Inc
1.59%12.63M+108.27%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Applied Materials (AMAT) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Applied Materials (AMAT) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
BRUNER JUDY
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.00KSep 8, 2026
2
PALKHIWALA AKASH J
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

279Aug 27, 2026
3
HILL BRICE
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

7.50KAug 25, 2026
4
DICKERSON GARY E
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

78.32KJun 30, 2026
5
RAJA PRABURAM G.
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

10.00KJun 18, 2026
6
DICKERSON GARY E
Chief Executive Officer
0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

83.00KJun 16, 2026
7
IANNOTTI THOMAS J
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

9.25KJun 16, 2026
8
NALAMASU OMKARAM
Chief Technology Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

35.00KJun 16, 2026
9
IANNOTTI THOMAS J
Director
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

750Jun 16, 2026
10
DICKERSON GARY E
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

17.00KJun 16, 2026
11
DEANE TIMOTHY M
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8.62KJun 15, 2026
12
DEANE TIMOTHY M
Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.54KJun 15, 2026
Showing 12 of 73 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest AMAT shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of AMAT, with 80.21 million shares, or about 10.11% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for AMAT?

Applied Materials has 10 institutional rows on file: 9 increased or initiated positions and 1 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for AMAT?

TECHi shows 73 dated AMAT insider transactions through Sep 8, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are AMAT insiders buying or selling?

The displayed AMAT activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 22 sales and 1 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported AMAT insider?

DICKERSON GARY E has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed AMAT filing rows, totaling 740,986 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.