Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NYSE · Technology · Holders

Ciena Corporation (CIEN) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top CIEN institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:53 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:39 AM EDT · Statements Aug 1, 2026

Ownership read

CIEN insider transaction activity: Net selling.

FMR, LLC is the largest institutional holder. 100 sales and 0 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

CIEN

Purchases0
Sales455.48K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

19.11M

FMR, LLC

Insider transaction activity

Net selling

$107.35M sold / $0.0000 bought

Observations shown

130

10 holder / 120 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
5
5 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
120
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
54.81% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 455,483

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 100
  • Grant: 18
  • Gift: 2

Top 10 institutional holders

Ciena Corporation (CIEN) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Ciena Corporation (CIEN) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
FMR, LLC
13.5%19.11M-9.88%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Blackrock Inc.
8.97%12.72M-4.90%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
JPMORGAN CHASE & CO
7.90%11.21M+9.58%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
6.51%9.23M+0.70%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
5.42%7.68M+4.23%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
State Street Corporation
4.71%6.68M+5.89%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Price (T.Rowe) Associates Inc
2.87%4.07M-22.34%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.38%3.37M-17.10%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
American Century Companies Inc
1.31%1.85M+245.58%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Bank of America Corporation
1.26%1.79M-8.50%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Ciena Corporation (CIEN) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Ciena Corporation (CIEN) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
DIPERNA DINO
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

498Sep 16, 2026
2
ROTHENSTEIN DAVID M.
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.50KSep 15, 2026
3
GAGE BRODIE
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.20KSep 15, 2026
4
SMITH GARY BRIAN
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.95KSep 15, 2026
5
SMITH GARY BRIAN
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.95KSep 1, 2026
6
GAGE BRODIE
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

1.20KAug 17, 2026
7
SMITH GARY BRIAN
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.95KAug 17, 2026
8
ROTHENSTEIN DAVID M.
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.50KAug 14, 2026
9
GRAFF MARC D.
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.00KAug 14, 2026
10
SMITH GARY BRIAN
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.95KAug 3, 2026
11
ROTHENSTEIN DAVID M.
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.50KJul 15, 2026
12
DIPERNA DINO
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

782Jul 15, 2026
Showing 12 of 120 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest CIEN shareholders?

FMR, LLC is the largest reported institutional holder of CIEN, with 19.11 million shares, or about 13.48% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for CIEN?

Ciena Corporation has 10 institutional rows on file: 5 increased or initiated positions and 5 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for CIEN?

TECHi shows 120 dated CIEN insider transactions through Sep 16, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are CIEN insiders buying or selling?

The displayed CIEN activity reads Net selling: 100 sales and 0 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported CIEN insider?

SMITH GARY BRIAN has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed CIEN filing rows, totaling 491,929 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.