Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NYSE · Technology · Holders

IonQ Inc. (IONQ) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top IONQ institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 28, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 8:34 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

Ownership read

IONQ insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Morgan Stanley is the largest institutional holder. 53 sales and 3 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

IONQ

Purchases98.07K
Sales13.76M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

26.28M

Morgan Stanley

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$456.71M sold / $2.25M bought

Observations shown

116

10 holder / 106 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
5
5 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
106
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
30.06% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 13,663,191

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 56
  • Grant: 32
  • Conversion / exercise: 18

Top 10 institutional holders

IonQ Inc. (IONQ) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

IonQ Inc. (IONQ) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Morgan Stanley
6.90%26.28M+24.19%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Blackrock Inc.
5.48%20.90M-30.04%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
4.09%15.60M+3.55%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
3.66%13.96M-9.29%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
State Street Corporation
2.13%8.12M-12.37%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
UBS Group AG
2.07%7.90M+36.02%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Bank of America Corporation
1.70%6.47M+257.96%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Geode Capital Management, LLC
1.70%6.46M-23.46%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
NORGES BANK
1.36%5.19M+16.56%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Marex Group Ltd.
0.97%3.71M-7.45%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

IonQ Inc. (IONQ) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

IonQ Inc. (IONQ) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
RAYMOND JOHN W.
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.41KSep 10, 2026
2
BAXTER TIMOTHY E
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.54KAug 24, 2026
3
BALL ERIC R
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.54KAug 24, 2026
4
TOLEDANO GABRIELLE B
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.76KJun 18, 2026
5
RAYMOND JOHN W.
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.81KJun 18, 2026
6
CHOU KATHRYN K
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

2.76KJun 18, 2026
7
CHOU KATHRYN K
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.53KJun 17, 2026
8
TEUBER WILLIAM J JR
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.53KJun 17, 2026
9
SCANNELL WILLIAM F
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.53KJun 17, 2026
10
FRANKOLA JAMES WALTER
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.53KJun 17, 2026
11
TOLEDANO GABRIELLE B
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.53KJun 17, 2026
12
CARDILLO ROBERT THOMAS
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.77KMay 6, 2026
Showing 12 of 106 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest IONQ shareholders?

Morgan Stanley is the largest reported institutional holder of IONQ, with 26.28 million shares, or about 6.90% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for IONQ?

IonQ Inc. has 10 institutional rows on file: 5 increased or initiated positions and 5 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for IONQ?

TECHi shows 106 dated IONQ insider transactions through Sep 10, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are IONQ insiders buying or selling?

The displayed IONQ activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 53 sales and 3 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported IONQ insider?

CHAPMAN PETER HUME has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed IONQ filing rows, totaling 20.02 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.