Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Financial Services · Holders

MARA Holdings (MARA) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top MARA institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 29, 9:34 AM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 9:34 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

Ownership read

MARA insider transaction activity: Net selling.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 64 sales and 0 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

MARA

Purchases0
Sales1.29M

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

64.10M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Net selling

$19.36M sold / $0.0000 bought

Observations shown

98

10 holder / 88 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
8
2 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
88
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
44.41% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 1,291,124

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 64
  • Grant: 23
  • Gift: 1

Top 10 institutional holders

MARA Holdings (MARA) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

MARA Holdings (MARA) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Blackrock Inc.
16.6%64.10M+7.23%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
7.09%27.40M+3.63%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
4.28%16.54M+1.18%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
State Street Corporation
4.12%15.90M+4.48%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.81%10.87M+5.41%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
Shaw D.E. & Co., Inc.
2.69%10.38M+687.15%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Marex Group Ltd.
2.06%7.95M-4.35%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Morgan Stanley
1.75%6.77M+29.65%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Bank of America Corporation
1.58%6.10M+19.87%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
UBS Group AG
1.44%5.58M-26.81%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

MARA Holdings (MARA) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

MARA Holdings (MARA) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
NOWAID ZABI
General Counsel
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8.38KAug 21, 2026
2
KHAN SALMAN HASSAN
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

16.00KAug 17, 2026
3
THIEL FREDERICK G
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

27.50KAug 17, 2026
4
NOWAID ZABI
General Counsel
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8.38KJul 20, 2026
5
KHAN SALMAN HASSAN
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

16.00KJul 17, 2026
6
THIEL FREDERICK G
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

27.50KJul 17, 2026
7
MELLINGER DOUGLAS K
Director
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

7.00KJun 22, 2026
8
KHAN SALMAN HASSAN
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

16.00KJun 17, 2026
9
NOWAID ZABI
General Counsel
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

7.00KJun 17, 2026
10
THIEL FREDERICK G
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

27.50KJun 17, 2026
11
KHAN SALMAN HASSAN
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

16.00KMay 18, 2026
12
NOWAID ZABI
General Counsel
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

8.25KMay 18, 2026
Showing 12 of 88 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest MARA shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of MARA, with 64.10 million shares, or about 16.59% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for MARA?

MARA Holdings has 10 institutional rows on file: 8 increased or initiated positions and 2 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for MARA?

TECHi shows 88 dated MARA insider transactions through Aug 21, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are MARA insiders buying or selling?

The displayed MARA activity reads Net selling: 64 sales and 0 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported MARA insider?

THIEL FREDERICK G has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed MARA filing rows, totaling 2.60 million shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.