Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NASDAQ · Technology · Holders

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top MSFT institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 28, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 8:37 AM EDT · Statements Jun 30, 2026

Ownership read

MSFT insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 27 sales and 2 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

MSFT

Purchases8.84K
Sales568.03K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

607.37M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$271.74M sold / $3.44M bought

Observations shown

99

10 holder / 89 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
8
2 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
89
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
32.55% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 559,188

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 29
  • Gift: 7
  • Grant: 53

Top 10 institutional holders

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Blackrock Inc.
8.18%607.37M+2.37%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
6.53%485.19M+0.55%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
State Street Corporation
4.25%315.65M+2.92%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.55%189.63M+0.60%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
FMR, LLC
2.50%185.96M-2.24%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
2.27%168.41M+0.55%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
JPMORGAN CHASE & CO
1.82%135.17M+6.33%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Morgan Stanley
1.72%127.67M+2.24%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
NORGES BANK
1.38%102.73M-1.94%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Invesco Ltd.
1.35%100.25M+1.52%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
HOOD AMY E
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

41.67KSep 14, 2026
2
SMITH BRADFORD LEE
Officer
<0.01%Stock GiftProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Gift
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

14.00KSep 9, 2026
3
SCHARF CHARLES W
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

125Sep 4, 2026
4
LIST-STOLL TERI L.
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

125Sep 4, 2026
5
STANTON JOHN W.
Director
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

125Sep 4, 2026
6
NADELLA SATYA
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

86.53KSep 1, 2026
7
ALTHOFF JUDSON
Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

29.72KAug 31, 2026
8
NUMOTO TAKESHI
Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

12.68KAug 31, 2026
9
JOLLA ALICE L
Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

5.58KAug 31, 2026
10
HOOD AMY E
Chief Financial Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

31.26KAug 31, 2026
11
SMITH BRADFORD LEE
President
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

27.69KAug 31, 2026
12
NADELLA SATYA
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%Stock Award(Grant)Provider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Grant
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

178.62KAug 31, 2026
Showing 12 of 89 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest MSFT shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of MSFT, with 607.37 million shares, or about 8.18% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for MSFT?

Microsoft Corp. has 10 institutional rows on file: 8 increased or initiated positions and 2 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for MSFT?

TECHi shows 89 dated MSFT insider transactions through Sep 14, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are MSFT insiders buying or selling?

The displayed MSFT activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 27 sales and 2 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported MSFT insider?

NADELLA SATYA has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed MSFT filing rows, totaling 731,918 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.