Skip to main content
Methodology published · Market data, model notes, and corrections process are public · Data policy · Corrections policy

NYSE · Healthcare · Holders

Thermo Fisher Scientific (TMO) Institutional Ownership & Insider Trading History

Top TMO institutional shareholders, filing changes, and Form 4 insider activity with filters for buys, sales, option exercises, gifts, and tax withholding.

Section freshness

Prices as of Sep 28, 4:00 PM EDT · Fundamentals checked Sep 29, 6:23 AM EDT · Statements Jun 27, 2026

Ownership read

TMO insider transaction activity: Mixed, sale-heavy.

Blackrock Inc. is the largest institutional holder. 45 sales and 1 purchases appear in the recent Form 4 filings. Use the filters below to separate open-market activity from option exercises, gifts, awards, and tax withholding.

Insider flow

TMO

Purchases20
Sales418.61K

Directional bars ignore awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding rows.

Top holder

30.92M

Blackrock Inc.

Insider transaction activity

Mixed, sale-heavy

$236.22M sold / $11.04K bought

Observations shown

130

10 holder / 120 insider

Holder rows
10
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row
Increased / initiated
6
4 decreased · provider-reported changes
Insider rows
120
Yahoo Finance · Filing dates shown per row

Ownership concentration and transaction activity

Top 10 reported holders
36.10% outstanding
Changes with share-count history
Prior-position data unavailable
New / exited positions
0 / 0 explicitly reported
Largest increase with share-count history
Prior share counts unavailable

Reported-holder cohort only; absence from a limited provider list does not establish an exit. Changes are provider-reported and are only comparable quarter over quarter when the position periods match.

Net shares sold: 418,585

Sale-code S shares minus purchase-code P shares in this sample. Includes disclosed plans and unknown plan status; excludes grants, gifts, exercises and withholding. This is activity, not sentiment.

  • Conversion / exercise: 29
  • Purchase / sale; plan unknown: 46
  • Grant: 41
  • Gift: 4

Top 10 institutional holders

Thermo Fisher Scientific (TMO) institutional ownership

Ranked by reported share count, with position changes and separate position and filing dates where ownership data supplies them.

Thermo Fisher Scientific (TMO) institutional ownership
#Institution% heldSharesChange %Position / filing date
1
Blackrock Inc.
8.36%30.92M+1.62%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
2
Vanguard Capital Management LLC
6.57%24.28M-0.02%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
3
State Street Corporation
4.55%16.83M+0.56%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
4
FMR, LLC
3.81%14.08M+30.70%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
5
Morgan Stanley
2.91%10.76M-0.92%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
6
JPMORGAN CHASE & CO
2.30%8.50M+25.14%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
7
Geode Capital Management, LLC
2.27%8.38M-0.30%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
8
Franklin Resources, Inc.
1.97%7.27M+6.73%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
9
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC
1.68%6.23M+1.02%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
10
Capital World Investors
1.68%6.20M-6.78%Position as of Jun 30, 2026Filing date unknown
Showing 10 of 10 matching institutional rows.

Recent insider transactions

Thermo Fisher Scientific (TMO) Form 4 filings

Action codes are translated so open-market buys and sales are separate from awards, gifts, conversions, and tax withholding.

Thermo Fisher Scientific (TMO) Form 4 insider transactions
#Insider% companyActionSharesTransaction date
1
PETTITI GIANLUCA
President
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

3.73KAug 31, 2026
2
PETTITI GIANLUCA
President
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

4.13KAug 31, 2026
3
CASPER MARC N
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

275Aug 24, 2026
4
CASPER MARC N
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

275Aug 24, 2026
5
CASPER MARC N
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

20.00KAug 21, 2026
6
CASPER MARC N
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

20.00KAug 21, 2026
7
BRITT LISA P
Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

11.44KAug 19, 2026
8
BRITT LISA P
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

11.44KAug 19, 2026
9
SHAFER MICHAEL D
Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

25.50KAug 11, 2026
10
SHAFER MICHAEL D
Officer
<0.01%SaleOpen-market or direct sale reported on Form 4.
Transaction context
Classification:
Purchase / sale; plan unknown
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

25.50KAug 11, 2026
11
HOLMES JOSEPH R.
Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

420Aug 7, 2026
12
CASPER MARC N
Chief Executive Officer
<0.01%Conversion of Exercise of derivative securityProvider-supplied Form 4 action code. Review the original filing before making a trading judgment.
Transaction context
Classification:
Conversion / exercise
10b5-1:
Unknown; not supplied by provider
Holdings after:
Not reported
Position sold:
Not calculable
Filed:
Not reported

Position sold = shares sold ÷ (shares sold + holdings after). Separate accounts or security classes may not represent total beneficial ownership.

275Aug 7, 2026
Showing 12 of 120 matching Form 4 rows. Percent of company uses current shares outstanding.

Frequently asked

Common questions.

Who are the largest TMO shareholders?

Blackrock Inc. is the largest reported institutional holder of TMO, with 30.92 million shares, or about 8.36% of shares outstanding.

What does the institutional filing activity show for TMO?

Thermo Fisher Scientific has 10 institutional rows on file: 6 increased or initiated positions and 4 reduced them.

What insider transactions are available for TMO?

TECHi shows 120 dated TMO insider transactions through Aug 31, 2026, with transaction types kept separate so administrative actions are not presented as open-market trades.

Are TMO insiders buying or selling?

The displayed TMO activity reads Mixed, sale-heavy: 45 sales and 1 purchases. Other transaction types remain separate.

Who is the most active reported TMO insider?

CASPER MARC N has the largest absolute share movement in the displayed TMO filing rows, totaling 368,242 shares. The action labels provide the transaction context.

All data sources

Search the dated figures used for this view. Each entry identifies its units, reporting period and calculation status.

How to use this page

Use this to check who owns the float and whether insiders are active.

Best for Institutional concentration, insider transaction pattern, and float context.

Weak when Filings are delayed or transactions are administrative rather than economic.

Browse all companies and funds
Research tools
US market hours

Regular hours: 9:30 AM–4:00 PM America/New_York

Next open: Checking…

Exchange calendar includes scheduled holidays and early closes. Extended-session prices appear separately only when supplied by the quote source.